blame it on madonna

For me, WMagazine’s Blame it On Rio has been one of the most inspiring, affecting fashion photo-shoots I have ever laid eyes on. Madonna, her platinum blonde hair, the heat of Rio de Janeiro, religious icons, texture, sense of place… Yes, for me it really has it all! Truly transportive. I tried to pick some of my favourite images but – oh look – I’ve included almost the whole editorial spread!

Photographed by Steven Klein and styled by Arianne Phillips, this shoot encapsulates so many wonderful elements which lead to a perfect execution. The mixture of colour photos with black and white makes us flutter between nostalgia and voyeurism. Interesting perspectives and objects in the foreground help create the narrative that binds this shoot together.

Fashion can bring you from here to here. It is like a vehicle, when you wake up early enough to really care, deeply, about what you adorn yourself with. That is what this photo-shoot evokes, for me.

Hm.. I am being a touch romantic on this otherwise blustery Friday in the Big Stink. I blame it on Madonna.

Find the full photoshoot here: http://www.wmagazine.com/celebrities/2009/03/madonna_rio#ixzz1k1EoxDDN