Vodka Floridita Recipe

28_lifestyle_vodkafloriditaIf you are living somewhere where you’re experiencing seasonally appropriate weather, I don’t want to hear about it. I’m plugging my ears and singing loudly, because spring lied to me and I’m very upset about it. Ottawa, you are failing to impress me. Let’s try to get our act together, shall we?

And so, while you enjoy your spring I’m going to have to fake it. “Fake it until you make it”, as they say.  But that’s OK because actually I’ve found the perfect solution: Cocktails. It’s genius! You may have your “spring” but I have spring in a glass and so who can say who really comes out on top? Don’t answer that.

I’ve felt for some time that what this blog (and my life) is really missing is cocktails. And a Vodka Floridita, with its delicious mélange of citrus and mint, will definitely do the trick. I should be mentioned that I’m taking artistic license with this one; I don’t know what a Vodka Floridita is, really. But let’s not confuse ourselves with details.

28_ingredients3 (1 of 1)28_vodkafloridita-2177Ingredients.

  • Fresh mint
  • 1 lime, sliced into wedges
  • 1/2 tsp sugar per glass
  • Juice from one grapefruit
  • 2 oz vodka
  • 1 oz Cointreau
  • Ice cubes
  • Grapefruit Perrier

Directions.

Put mint leaves, sugar and a wedge of lime into each glass and muddle. Top the glass with ice. Put Vodka, Cointreau, the juice of one grapefruit and ice into a shaker, and proceed to shake it like it’s your job. Pour it over your muddled mint and ice until the glass is about half full BECAUSE WE’RE OPTIMISTS. Fill the rest of your glass with grapefruit Perrier. Sippy sippy.

 

It took me one and a half cocktails to write this post, which is either a tribute to how slow a writer I am or how deliciously tasty this cocktail is. Tune in next week for a post on moderation. Kidding…!

xx

2 thoughts on “Vodka Floridita Recipe

  1. I’ll take four glasses of spring, please. Simply drive here with the ingredients, prepare, serve (one each for Matt, Brad, Gerry, and Kat), and linger for 3-4 days. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

